You are here

State Emergency Operations Center Activated

Due to severe weather conditions across Oklahoma, the State Emergency Operations Center has been activated since Wednesday morning. The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) is in contact with emergency managers across the state and coordinating with numerous agencies and organizations including the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma State Department of Health, Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Oklahoma Corporation Commission, Oklahoma National Guard, National Weather Service, Oklahoma Department of Human Services, Oklahoma Office of Geographic Information, Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, American Red Cross, the Salvation Army, Oklahoma Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD), and Civil Air Patrol.


A State of Emergency remains in effect for all 77 counties until June 25, 2015. Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions.


Carter County Emergency Management reported this morning that many roads were under water. Numerous homes were evacuated.

Garvin County Emergency Management reports numerous county roads are closed due to high water. A few homes were evacuated.

Murray County Emergency Management reports more than 10 inches of rain in Davis and extensive flooding throughout the county. Cross Timbers Youth Camp was evacuated last night and Turner Falls is sheltering visitors in cabins. Many roads at Turner Falls are damaged or washed out, including the entrance road. Local responders are currently involved in two water rescues west of Davis. At least one home is flooded.

Pontotoc County Emergency Management reports flooded roads on the west side of the county.


The Oklahoma Department of Transportation reports the following highways are affected by high water. Do NOT drive into high water. Turn around if possible. Drivers are cautioned to heed all warning signs and not to drive around barricades.

Travel discouraged on I-35 in southern Oklahoma due to multiple closures, traffic detoured:

  • Northbound I-35 is closed just south of US-77/Turner Falls (mm 51) in Murray County until further notice due to ongoing cleanup of debris falling onto the highway caused by heavy rain. ODOT crews are assessing the situation and do not currently have an estimate for reopening the highway. Law enforcement is diverting traffic and drivers should follow the detour routes listed below.
  • Northbound and southbound I-35 is closed between SH-142 in Ardmore and SH-53 in Springer in Carter County due to flooding.
  • Follow @okdot on Twitter for detour updates:

Closed due to flooding:

  • Carter County - US-70 West is closed between I-35 in Ardmore and SH-76 near Wilson. SH-76 is closed between Healdton and US-70 and closed several locations between Healdton and Ratliff City
  • Cherokee County - SH-80 is closed to through traffic about four miles west of Hulbert between SH-51 and US-62
  • Garvin County - SH-74 is closed one mile north of SH-7, south of Elmore City. SH-74 is closed to through traffic between Maysville and Elmore City. Detour on SH-19, US-77 and SH-29
  • Jefferson County - SH-89 is closed between US-70 and SH-32 south of Ringling. US-70 is closed 8 miles west of Ringling
  • Johnston County - US-377/SH-99 is closed to through traffic just south of Tishomingo. While water has receded off the roadway, flooding and debris have damaged parts of the bridge. Water remains too high at this time for a full bridge inspection to determine the extent of potential damage. Traffic is detoured on SH-1/SH-22 through Ravia and US-177/SH-199
  • Leflore County - US-270 is closed between Wister and Heavener and US-271 at Wister. Signs are in place and traffic will be detoured to Poteau and Heavener
  • Love County - SH-77 Scenic is closed at Lake Murray State Park. SH-96 is closed south of SH-32. SH-32 is closed at Mud Creek 3 miles east of the Jefferson County line
  • Marshall County - SH-199 is closed at the Ft. Washita bridge about five miles west of SH-48
  • Murray County - US-77 is closed between SH-7 and I-35 near Davis. SH-7 westbound is closed in Davis at the US-77 South junction
  • Okfuskee County - SH-48 is closed 1.5 miles south of I-40 at the Canadian River
  • Okmulgee County - US-75A is closed the rail road overpass on the north side of Beggs
  • Pittsburg County - SH-31 is closed west of McAlester

Closed due to flooding damage:

  • Grant County - SH-11 between US-81 in Medford and SH-132 is open to one lane with traffic signals while surface damage is repaired on the construction detour
  • Kingfisher County - SH-33 is closed about three miles west of the SH-74F junction near Cashion. This closure is expected to last several more weeks while a contractor finishes a nearby bridge construction project
  • Kiowa County - SH-54 is closed to through traffic just south of SH-9 near Gotebo after flooding damaged a construction detour near an ongoing project. Traffic is detoured using SH-19 to US-183 to SH-55
  • Leflore County - SH-1 is closed between US-271 and US-259 through the Ouachita National Forest due to damage from a land slide.
  • McCurtain County - US-259 is closed at the Red River due to flooding-related damage on both the Oklahoma and Texas sides of the Red River bridge. Drivers must find an alternate route traveling into Texas
  • Pottawatomie County - SH-102 is open to only local traffic between SH-9 and SH-59B as crews repair damage to surface and drainage areas of the highway. The roadway may reopen within a week
  • Pushmataha County - US-271 is open to 1 lane south of Clayton as a contractor continues making repairs to shore up severe erosion after heavy rains in May damaged both the roadway and the road bed. Permanent repairs are expected to take up to 8 weeks to complete

ODOT traffic advisories and flooding closure lists are posted regularly at


The Oklahoma Corporation Commission reports more than 2,271 power outages statewide.
OG&E - Total: 268

  • Bokchito: 149
  • OKC: 59
  • Durant: 60

PSO - Total: 415
Largest outage areas:

  • Wagoner – 335
  • Bixby – 33
  • Elgin – 14

Southwest Electric Cooperative - Total: Approx 900
Largest outage area: Durant

Northeast Electric Cooperative - Total: 20
West Siloam Springs, Ketchum areas

Oklahoma Electric Cooperative - Total: 515
Most in the Tuttle, Bridge Creek areas

Red River Valley Electric Cooperative - Total: 142
Largest outage areas:

  • Cornish: 55
  • Rubottom: 17
  • Waurika: 59

Verdigris Valley Electric Cooperative - Total: 11
Bartlesville area

DIAL 211

For Oklahoma residents seeking non-emergency disaster or health and human service information or flood damage cleanup assistance, please contact your local 2-1-1. Services are available 24 hours a day by dialing 2-1-1 from your home or cellular telephone. Please only call 911 for emergencies.