You are here

Situation Update: Severe Weather Continues to Impact State

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) remains in contact with emergency managers across the state and coordinating with agencies and organizations including the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Oklahoma State Department of Health, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality, Oklahoma Department of Human Services, Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Oklahoma National Guard, Oklahoma Corporation Commission, Oklahoma Insurance Department, National Weather Service, Oklahoma American Red Cross, the Salvation Army, Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief and the Oklahoma Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster.


Gov. Mary Fallin today declared a State of Emergency for 15 Oklahoma counties due to tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding that began Sunday. Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

The counties included in the declaration are: Atoka, Bryan, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Garvin, Johnson, Kay, McCurtain, Murray, Noble, Payne, Stephens and Tillman.Additional counties may be added.


Oklahoma Office of the Chief Medical Examiner is examining two fatalities that may be attributed to the storms. 

  • A 76-year-old male in Garvin County
  • A 76-year-old male in Johnston County

The Oklahoma State Department of Health reports 7 injuries have been reported to area hospitals as a result of Monday’s storms.


American Red Cross is providing food and other disaster recovery items in Sulphur at Crossway Baptist Church at 2108 West Broadway.

Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma Disaster Relief is responding with chainsaw teams to assist with debris removal in Choctaw County. They may activate additional chainsaw teams and roof tarp teams if further assistance is needed. To request assistance, visit

The Murray County Health Department will be providing free tetanus shots at Crossway Baptist Church.

The Oklahoma Conference of Churches is providing emotional and spiritual care in Sulphur and Davis in Murray County.


Chickasaw Nation Emergency Management reports 2 homes destroyed, barn and fence damage, and impacts to livestock.

Choctaw County Emergency Management reports 83 homes and businesses damaged. Those numbers include:

  • 46 homes damaged in the Boswell area, including 15 destroyed.
  • 37 businesses and homes damaged in Hugo, including two businesses destroyed.

Garvin County Emergency Management reports 13 homes and mobile homes damaged, including nine destroyed.

In Murray County, American Red Cross reports 20-30 homes damaged, including 10-12 destroyed.

DIAL 211

For Oklahoma residents seeking non-emergency disaster or health and human service information, please contact your local 2-1-1. Services are available 24 hours a day by dialing 2-1-1 from your home or cellular telephone. Please only call 911 for emergencies.