You are here

SBA Disaster Assistance Granted for 5 Oklahoma Counties Impacted by Tornadoes, Storms

Gov. Mary Fallin today announced that residents and business owners in 5 Oklahoma counties may now receive disaster assistance from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) as a result of the tornadoes, severe storms, flooding and straight-line winds that occurred May 9 -13.

The designation provides SBA low-interest disaster loans for homeowners and business owners in Murray County to replace any property damaged by the storm that was not covered by insurance or other assistance programs. Under SBA rules, the contiguous counties of Carter, Pontotoc, Garvin and Johnston are also eligible for assistance.

The loan program is also available to assist businesses that sustained economic injury due to the storm.

Damage assessments showed there were 79 homes and businesses affected by the storms in Murray County. Of those, 32 were destroyed or had major damage.

An additional 14 homes were affected in Garvin County. Two were destroyed or had major damage.