You are here

Major Disaster Declaration Approved for June Storms

Gov. Mary Fallin today announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved the state's request for disaster assistance for 6 counties related to the flooding and severe storms that began June 11.

The approval means federal funding is available to assist municipalities, counties, rural electric cooperatives and the state with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the June storms.

Disaster assistance is approved for Caddo, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady and Stephens counties.

According to preliminary damage assessments, the storm resulted in an estimated $6.7 million in damages and response costs in these counties alone.

The storm caused flash flooding that damaged nearly 300 homes and businesses, while washing out several bridges and rendering some roads impassable. Two deaths were attributed to the storms.