You are here

Gov. Fallin Expands State of Emergency to 10 Additional Counties Due to Wildfires

Gov. Mary Fallin today amended an executive order to declare a state of emergency for 10 additional counties due to ongoing wildfires and critical fire weather conditions.

The executive order was amended to include the following counties: Alfalfa, Blaine, Creek, Dewey, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Logan, Major and Woodward. The governor last week issued an executive order that covered Woods County.

What began as four separate fires merged Wednesday into one large wildfire in Woodward County. Firefighting task forces, heavy equipment and large air tankers are being used to suppress the fire, which with the aid of high winds has burned more than 55,000 acres.

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. It is also the first step toward seeking federal aid for affected farmers and ranchers should it be necessary.

Fallin also signed a companion executive order, which waives certain size and weight restrictions for vehicles that will be needed to move emergency response equipment and supplies to affected areas.

Both executive orders are in effect for 30 days, and could be amended to include additional counties if needed.