You are here

Gov. Fallin Declares State of Emergency for 15 Counties

Gov. Mary Fallin today declared a state of emergency for 15 counties due to tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding since Sunday. Read the full text of the executive order online.

The counties included in the governor’s declaration are: Atoka, Bryan, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Garvin, Johnson, Kay, McCurtain, Murray, Noble, Payne, Stephens and Tillman.

“I appreciate the ongoing work of our first responders who have been working diligently to assist those in need,” said Fallin. “I also offer my continued thoughts and prayers to all those affected by the storms.”

The storms resulted in at least 2 deaths, one in Garvin County and one in Johnston County, and multiple injuries.

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

The declaration can be amended to add additional counties if conditions warrant.