You are here

FEMA Reaffirms Denial of Aid for Storm Victims in 9 Oklahoma Counties

Gov. Mary Fallin today expressed disappointment that the federal government has denied the state’s appeal for individual assistance for residents and business owners in nine eastern Oklahoma counties affected by a winter storm and flooding that struck after Christmas.

In a March 11 letter, the governor had asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to reverse its recent decision denying individual assistance for homeowners, renters and business owners affected by winter storm, ice, sleet and flooding that began Dec. 26. The assistance was sought for Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, McCurtain, Muskogee, Ottawa, Pushmataha and Sequoyah counties.

FEMA approved public assistance for 42 Oklahoma counties that were affected by the same storm and individual assistance for 33 Missouri counties and 11 Arkansas counties.