You are here

FEMA Public Assistance Extended to Include 5 Additional Oklahoma Counties

Federal disaster assistance is now available to 5 more counties in Oklahoma as a result of the May 5 to June 4 storms. They are Delaware, Greer, Harmon, Nowata and Mayes counties.

Public Assistance funding helps repair or rebuild public infrastructure such as roads, bridges, water systems, utilities and public buildings such as schools.

Types of entities that may be eligible for Public Assistance include:

  • Local governments and special districts;
  • Certain private nonprofit organizations or institutions that conduct activities of a governmental nature and are open to the general public;
  • Federally recognized tribes; and
  • State government agencies.

Adair, Atoka, Beckham, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Craig, Creek, Dewey, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, Logan, Love, Major, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, Wagoner and Washita counties are also eligible for Public Assistance funding, totaling 59 counties in all.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, click on  or visit the Oklahoma Emergency Management site at