You are here

Disaster Assistance Expands to Include 7 More Oklahoma Counties

Homeowners, renters and business owners in seven more Oklahoma counties affected by the recent severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding starting on May 5 through June 4 can now apply for state and federal disaster assistance. Those counties include Beckham, Caddo, Canadian, Marshall, McIntosh, Seminole and Wagoner, which now brings the total to 20.

Individual Assistance was extended to those counties after a review of on-going damage assessments by the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Disaster assistance for qualified applicants may include:

  • Grants for rental assistance or temporary housing;
  • Grants for home repairs not covered by insurance;
  • Grants for serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance—such as medical, dental, funeral, personal property, vehicles and moving and storage; and
  • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) may be available to businesses of all sizes, private non-profit organizations, and homeowners and renters for losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Survivors in all 20 designated counties (Atoka, Beckham, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Grady, Johnston, Kiowa, Le Flore, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Oklahoma, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Seminole and Wagoner) who sustained losses or damage from storms that occurred between May 5 and June 4 may register anytime. There are three easy was to do so:

  • Online at;
  • Via smartphone or web-enabled device by using the FEMA app;
  • Or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services can call 800-621-3362 to register.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, click  or visit the OEM site at