You are here

16 Counties in Oklahoma Now Approved to Receive Federal Disaster Assistance

A June 4 amendment to the major disaster declaration for Oklahoma following the recent severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding now includes Public Assistance (PA) funding for 16 counties.

The amendment added Atoka, Bryan, Cleveland, Cotton, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, McClain, Okfuskee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Seminole, Stephens and Tillman counties to the declaration, making them eligible for funding to help repair or rebuild public infrastructure such as roads, bridges, water systems and utilities and public buildings such as schools, as well as emergency work such as debris removal and emergency protective measures.

  • Types of entities that may be eligible for Public Assistance include:
  • Local governments and special districts
  • Private nonprofit organizations or institutions that own or operate facilities that are open to the general public;Federally recognized tribes; and
  • State government agencies.

The declaration also includes 13 counties – Atoka, Bryan, Comanche, Cleveland, Grady, Johnston, Kiowa, Le Flore, McClain, McCurtain, Oklahoma, Pittsburg and Pottawatomie – for individual assistance, or assistance to help survivors get back on their feet after the severe weather.

Individuals and business owners in the designated counties, or anyone who has received damage from the recent storms, are encouraged to register for federal disaster assistance. You can register online at or via smartphone or web-enabled device by using the FEMA App. Applicants may also call 1-800-621-3362 or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. If you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, click or visit the OEM at