You are here

15 More Counties in Oklahoma Now Approved to Receive Federal Disaster Assistance

Federal disaster assistance is now available to 15 more counties in Oklahoma as a result of the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding that occurred May 5 to June 4.

Adair, Beckham, Caddo, Comanche, Creek, Garvin, Jackson, Logan, Marshall, McCurtain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Pushmataha, Sequoyah and Washita counties have been added to the May 26 major disaster declaration and are now eligible to receive Public Assistance.

Public Assistance funding helps repair or rebuild public infrastructure such as roads, bridges, water systems, utilities and public buildings such as schools. Types of entities that may be eligible for Public Assistance include:

  • Local governments and special districts
  • Certain private nonprofit organizations or institutions that conduct activities of a governmental nature and are open to the general public;
  • Federally recognized tribes; and
  • State government agencies.

Atoka, Bryan, Canadian, Carter, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Cotton, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Love, McClain, Murray, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Seminole, Stephens and Tillman counties are also eligible for Public Assistance funding, totaling 40 counties in all.

Additionally, the May 26 major disaster declaration includes 13 counties for Individual Assistance, or assistance to help survivors get back on their feet after the severe weather. Those counties are Atoka, Bryan, Comanche, Cleveland, Grady, Johnston, Kiowa, Le Flore, McClain, McCurtain, Oklahoma, Pittsburg and Pottawatomie.

Individuals in the designated counties are encouraged to register for federal disaster assistance. You can register online at or call 1-800-621-3362 or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. If you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services, call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, click or visit the OEM at